European Standards

Installation, Design, and maintenance of all Alarm Equipment is Protected by European Standard PD6662.

How do you know that the standards that any security equipment when installed will be reliable, installed correctly, and designed for the highest performance?

Quite simply all security systems must now adhere to European Standards PD6662 introduced on 1st October 2005. All new systems are designed, installed commissioned and maintained in accordance with the scheme. Originally before 2005, all alarm systems had to adhere to the British standards BS4737. Older security systems which were designed before 2005 are still governed by the British standards. However if an existing model requires substantial re-design or if fundamental equipment needs replacing it in effect becomes a new system and therefore must adhere to the European standards.

European Standards scheme Overview.

Alarm system grading

Under European standards it is taken there are four grades of alarm system that are graded by their capacity to withstand intruders expected to have:

1 Little knowledge and limited tools.
2 Limited knowledge and some tools.
3 Knowledge and a full range of tools.
4 Sophisticated knowledge and tools.

It is therefore expected that any supplier should provide security equipment to be suitable for use at a particular grade. Our trained installers will assess a property and decide upon the grading of the alarm. At the point of installation it is more appropriate for all equipment from the same grade to be installed, However a mix of different grades may occur. In such cases the official grade for the whole system will be deemed that of the lowest grade of equipment. Assessment should take into consideration items at risk, existing security arrangements and previous thefts. An installer may also suggest an insurer be consulted.

Detection and Control system grading

This is much more straight forward and is based on the levels of control panel memories and levels of detection (1 being the least). Grade 3 must also be able to detect when something has been placed over the lens of the camera and Grade 4 equipment must be able to detect when something has obstructed part of the detectors field of view.

Monitored Alarm systems grading

This grading is slightly more complex in that it takes into account the type of audible alert and the type of link to an Alarm receiving Centre. Also, the grade will depend on signalling failure. For instance Grade 2 B must notify the ARC (Alarm Receiving centre) in 25 hours; 3B 5 hours; and 4B within 3 minutes.

The grading for the UK is as follows:

2 X Siren at premises
2 B Siren + single link to ARC
2 C Two links to ARC
3 D Single Link to ARC
3 B Siren and single link to ARC
3 C Two links to ARC
3 D Single link to ARC
4 BCD As Grade 3 above.

**Note Police response is governed fundamentally by the police Security System Policy (largely that the police can only attend if the alarm complies with European standards.) and also the Confirmation systems standard DD243 2004. The latter
asks for an alarm design which has a) dual Path signalling b) confirmation of which at risk area and c) a means of un-setting should the designated alarm entry/exit door be forced open.

Maintenance grading

Maintenance requirements are as follows:

2 X 1 visit per annum
2 and 3 BCD 2 visits per annum or 1 visit and 1 remote check.
4 BCD 2 visits per annum

For further information about how we protect you through European Standards ask our installers  or contact us.


    Your Name (required)

    Phone (UK only)

    Your Email (required)

    Read this Privacy Policy